Closeburn House was built in the late 1800’s by Mrs Mary Theresa Alice Kirkpatrick. Mary named her home Closeburn House after the village of Closeburn in Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland where Closeburn Castle still stands and was the family seat of the Kirkpatrick family until 1783.
Closeburn House has periodically operated as an upmarket guesthouse for more than a century. In the early 1900’s, Closeburn House laid on what became the main western highway route with the opening of Berghofer’s Pass, which became popular with the new motor vehicles that baulked at the steep gradient of Victoria Pass.
Closeburn House was extensively restored and extended in 1990. It later changed ownership but then suffered from a decade of neglect.
In 2018 it was brought back to life after an extensive renovation of the house and grounds, and now Closeburn House Boutique Guesthouse continues its rich history of hospitality offering a beautiful mountain retreat to all of its guests and visitors.